Gut Feelings “Gratitude for the Body Journal”


the gutGut feelings, gut decisions, butterflies in the gut…ideas that spring from the well within- how does that happen? Our bodies are more than lungs breathing, hearts beating, eyes seeing…This picture is a close up of my “gut” region, which i have always felt like  had a mind of its own. In fact, i just found out that it is often called the second brain.  Microbes that inhabit our guts help explain that old idea of “gut feelings” -there’s growing evidence that gut bacteria really might influence our minds. http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2013/11/18/244526773/gut-bacteria-might-guide-the-workings-of-our-minds     If you look closely you will see my hand writing expressing gratitude for all that my body does-it covers my whole body.

As you know from my last post, “in the new year i decided it was high time to express gratitude to my body, my faithful companion, who performs thousands of miraculous actions every day that i don’t even notice-like breathing. Empirical studies have shown that those who keep gratitude journals feel better about their lives so, why not create a “Gratitude For Our Bodies Journal” and feel better about our bodies? and wouldn’t it be awesome to play with creative ideas to make it a fun mixed media art project?” I showed the stencil I made of my face last time.

Since then, i chose to decorate my body using stencils and stamps to create a tattoo like effect because I have always been fascinated by tattoos both henna & needle. full decorated bodyI collaged in my chakras with raised embossed symbols- an incorporeal (without a physical body, presence or form) element of our miraculous bodies.

As always there are endless possibilities for expression and my students are playing with many of those which i will show next time. When we are done decorating our bodies we will cut them into pages & begin using lots of techniques to make journal pages and last but not least create the cover.

~ by Deedee Hampton on January 26, 2014.

One Response to “Gut Feelings “Gratitude for the Body Journal””

  1. Fabulous. The body is full of messages. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
